'POESÍA eres tú'

The LOEWE Foundation and its International Poetry Prize mark their 30th anniversary. For the last three decades, the LOEWE Foundation has collated the best poetry in Spanish, which will be commemorated with 'POESIA eres tu', a documentary produced by the Foundation that will be released on National Poetry Day.

The film casts an all-encompassing gaze at a genre in constant evolution, to which the LOEWE FOUNDATION has paid tribute since 1988.

Basilio Sánchez

Basilio Sánchez (Cáceres, 1958) has been the winner of the 31st edition of the LOEWE Foundation International Poetry Prize due to the poem "He heredado un nogal sobre la tumba de los reyes"

Find out more about the winner of the prize

History of the LOEWE Poetry Prize

An accolade awarded on a yearly basis, the LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize was established in 1988 by the foundation's president at the time, Enrique Loewe, together with the poet Luis Antonio de Villena and the editor Jesús Visor.

In the thirty years since it was first established, the judges have recognised some of the most outstanding poets in the Spanish-speaking world.

Find out more about the history of the prize