POESÍA eres tú

The LOEWE Foundation and its International PoetryPrize marked their 30th anniversary in 2017. For the last three decades, the LOEWE Foundation has collated the best poetry in Spanish, which was commemorated with 'POESIA eres tu', a documentary produced by the Foundation that will be released on National Poetry Day.

The film casts an all-encompassing gaze at a genre in constant evolution, to which the LOEWE FOUNDATION has paid tribute since 1988.

Rules of entry

Orlando Mondragón

(Guerrero, Mexico, 1993) is a surgeon from the Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana Unidad Xochimilco. Winner of the IV Alejandro Aura Young Poetry Prize for Epicedio al padre (2017), his first book. He has received grants form various literary creation programmes, including the Interfaz ISSSTE-Cultura in 2017, the Program to Stimulate the Creation and Artistic Development of the state of Guerrero (PECDAG) in 2018, and the Foundation for Mexican Letters in 2019. Currently, he studies the specialty in psychiatry.

In 2021 he won the XXXIV LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize with his book Notebooks of human pathology.

Personal information

Sea el primero en enterarse sobre noticias y actualizaciones del Premio Internacional de Poesía FUNDACIÓN LOEWE.

Información personal


Registrations are opened for the 35th LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize

The LOEWE FOUNDATION launches the 34th edition of the LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize, an international award established to promote poetic talent and creation in Spanish language, with a prize for the winning entry of €25,000. There will also be a young poet’s award, for authors under 33 years old, with an €8,000 award. The winning works will be published at the Colección Visor de Poesía. Applications accepted from 30 March to 24 June 2021.

Rules of entry XXXV LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize (in Spanish)

History of the LOEWE Poetry Prize

An accolade awarded on a yearly basis, the LOEWE FOUNDATION International Poetry Prize was established in 1988 by the foundation's president at the time, Enrique Loewe, together with the poet Luis Antonio de Villena and the editor Jesús Visor.

In the thirty-four years since it was first established, the judges have recognised some of the most outstanding poets in the Spanish-speaking world.